Facebook Groups and Pages

With a Facebook account you can create Pages and Groups. I was only vaguely aware of this until today.  I have both versions on my FB page, but I didn’t really think about why they were different.  On my work FB I help admin the Libraries Facebook page which I’ve been calling Community without realizing how this related to Facebook terminology.  It is a Community, which is a subsection of Page, which vaguely resembles a regular personal FB.  It can a get a bit confusing.

Screen shot 2014-01-21 at 11.07.16 AM

This is where you select a Page

I have been unknowingly following several Facebook Pages without really being aware of it.  For example, I follow the page for Tate’s Comics store in Ft. Lauderdale and receive feeds from them. This is not the same as the personal FB page for the owner of Tate’s comics. On my work FB I have admin rights to the University of Miami Libraries Page.

How are Facebook pages different than the timelines on your own personal Facebook page? You can find FB’s answer at their FAQ page here. Pages are managed by admins who have personal Timelines. Pages are not separate Facebook accounts and do not have separate login information from your Timeline. However, I follow George Takei on FB and his is a Page that I am following (as seen above one of the options for Pages is Actor). If he has a personal FB account where he talks to his actual friends and family and not fans, I don’t know it and it might not even exist. The point is, you can have a personal account and then multiple people can admin the Page.  When I admin the Libraries’ Page, it does not effect my personal page.

How to Create a Facebook Page without a Personal Account

How to Create a Facebook Fan Page

Types of Facebook Pages

Facebook Page Settings & Permissions

Facebook Admin Roles FAQ

The other option in Facebook is Groups. On my personal FB, I am a member of a couple of Groups consisting of myself with a very small group of friends.  According to FB’s FAQ, Groups are different in that they have more privacy settings, some features are dependent on size of Group, notifications. One of the better articles I found described the difference between Groups and Pages this way: “A Page is meant to be more of a broadcasting platform one-to-many (though obviously you should be engaging with your fans also), whereas Groups are meant more for equal collaboration and discussion amongst a group of people who are related in some way and/or share some sort of similar interest.” (Cara Pring).  Click on the first link below the image and you’ll find a complete table listing the differences.

Screen shot 2014-01-21 at 1.25.26 PM

Facebook Pages vs Facebook Groups – this article is 10x better than then the FB FAQ page.

How are Pages different from Groups?

How Do I Create a Group?

Creating a Page or a Group is very dependent on what you want to accomplish in the end. So read over the materials I have listed and go over it, with your group if you have one, and figure out what is the best choice for the situation.  Facebook is no longer able to convert Groups into Pages nor the reverse.

Facebook Rights and Responsibilities – Read this. It’s deals with who owns the images you put on Facebook and what happens to them. For example, you own the rights, but if someone shared your images through their FB, your images are not deleted if you delete your Facebook account (Nov 2013).

Leave a Reply

