How to Download an MOV file from Firefox

Sometimes I get sent links to MOV files and someone wants me to grab the video and then post it somewhere else. This is how I pull the video off the web when the html address is an MOV file.

First off, and most important, you need Quicktime. I’m running Firefox 15.0.1 with Quicktime Player 10.0 on a Mac.

1. Enter the web address into Firefox and the video may or may not start playing. I find I can pull the video even if it never plays.
2. Under Tools, click Page Info
3. In this window click “media” at the top.
4. Then click “Save As” and the rest is simple.

That’s all there is to it.

Leave a Reply

